Type to search


New Immigration Offices To Be Opened in 4 Counties, Diaspora

Peter Musila 2 years ago

The government will be opening several immigration offices at the county level in a bid to address the rising demand for e-passports applications.

The new offices to be opened in Nakuru, Kisii, Eldoret and Embu will play a key role in reducing the demand as they are set to be distributing over 1,500 passports application daily.

The Department of Immigration confirmed the move saying it will also open several offices in the diaspora to fasten the application process.

“We are also going to open six more stations abroad including Washington (United States of America), London (United Kingdom), Berlin (Germany), Paris (France), Dubai (United Arab Emirates) and Johannesburg (South Africa),” said Director General of Immigration, Alex Muteshi.

Currently, over 400,00 Kenyans have managed to replace their old passports with the digital ones.

New applicants will need to attach their application with original ID and a copy, original birth certificate and a copy, recommender’s ID copy, online filled forms, three (3) invoices, three (3) passport size photos, and copies of their parents’ IDs.

The government had earlier scheduled plans to have the old passports replaced by digital ones by August 2019.

Next Up